Photos - Click on image to enlarge.

2016-2017 "Outstanding Contributions to Literacy" Award winners.

(Left to Right) Gillian Schneider, Riverside. Kirsten Hill, Palm Desert. Lisa Stallings, Aliso Virgo. CarolAnn Buchkalter, Hemet. Scherrie Oeser, Riverside. Megan Fields-Pia, Riverside. Judy Cook, Murrieta.

ALC President, Joni Smith, honored by The California Reading Association.

Our ALC President, Joni Smith, was honored by The California Reading Association in October 2017 with the Statewide Celebrate Literacy Award. This annual award is given to people in recognition of contributions in the field of reading across the state. Congratulations Joni!

2015-2016 "Outstanding Contributions to Literacy" Award winners.

Melanie Oliver, Norco (left). Anne Seil, Petaluma (right).
Van Ha To-Cowell, Lodi (speaking).

2014-2015 "Outstanding Contributions to Literacy" Award winners. Each receives a $500 grant is given to the winner's school for reading or language arts activities or materials.

Left to right: Devin Podesta, Redding; Lorena Tribby, Palo Verde; Olga Pacot, Fontana.

2014 "Outstanding Contributions to Literacy" Award Winners Video.

Trailer for 2014 Awards

All of the introduction and acceptance speech's for the 2014 "Outstanding Contributions to Literacy" Award winners are available on our Youtube Channel.

2014 "Outstanding Contributions to Literacy" 2014 Award winners.

Video of Presentation Video of the Proclamation presented to Penny and Tom Hirschman recognizing their service to the American Literacy Corporation and it's goals since the inception of the organization. ALC Awards, November 24, 2013.

2013 "Outstanding Contributions to Literacy" Award winners.

School Events sponsored by American Literacy Corporation. Author John Archambault visits the classroom of 2nd grade teacher Lori Fox of the San Jacinto Unified School District. Lori was a 2012-13 recipient the ALC 'Outstanding Contributions to Literacy' award.

There have been more than 200 "Outstanding Contributions to Literacy" award winners

ALC Founders and Boards

ALC Founders, Stuart and Dr. Jo Stanchfield (right) with a winner (left) of the 'Outstanding Contributions to Literacy' award.
2018 ALC Board of Directors (left to right): Nancy Bowman (Vice President), Penny Hirschman (President Emeritus), Mike Barney (Secretary), Dr. Carole Silva, Joni Smith (President).


"In Memoriam to Dr. Jo Stanchfield, ALC Founder.
ALC conducted a book donation drive for Katrina damaged Mississippi schools. Books were collected during the California Reading Association Annual Conference in Ontario, CA, in November 2005.